Skip to content

Calgary, Seattle, Sasquatch, Orcas, Victoria, Seattle, DC, Home!

June 3, 2010

I’m sitting in the common kitchen at the Doe Bay resort, trying to squeak this out before my eyelids 9/11 my face, and sleep city comes to brain town. Nope, I’m stone cold sober, but thanks for asking. I find myself on beautiful Orcas Island between an epic, (I know its a douche bag word), weekend at the Gorge performing and mainly enjoying the Sasquatch Music Festival, and this upcoming weekend at Hecklers’ in Victoria, BC in Canananananada. Which I hear is a great room, even though it has the worst possible name for a club. “Oh, I wasn’t supposed to yell at the performers? Why the fuck is this play called Hecklers then?!” Its like calling a store Shoplifties…
Explanation for awesome is that last weekend I got last minute phonecall to fill in for Garfunkel and Oates at the aforementioned Sasquatch festival, which was fun, but the audience was disappointed that I wasn’t two cute girls with Ukuleles. I survived though, and then got to see three days of my favorite bands performing, from the backstage. Highlights are: LCD Soundsystem, Kid Cudi, The XX, Band of Horses, Shabazz Palaces, A-Trak (video included above), and My Morning Jacket. There were a lot more, oh yeah, Passion Pit, MGMT. I’ll admit my life is pretty fuckin’ sweet, and I’m also a huge douchebag.
The biggest feat of the weekend was to test sobriety in the face of free beer and a plethora of nubile/older breast bouncing to good tunes. Booze didn’t succeed, but I’m staring down the barrel of being celibate as long as I’ve been sober this time, and I’m starting to weigh the odds. I know, its sad to not be able to make genuine connections with people and to survive off the ephemeral confidence of alcohol to win the affections of young ladies, but have you tried it the other way? It’s hard, you have to be yourself. JK, I’m rocking the clean living. That being the clean living where you also eat donuts for most breakfasts. Good thing I’ll be back on the sun in a week to move into my new apartment, and also lose all my water weight.
I’m abandoning technology now, there’s hippy chicks to impress and then shave. Quick, the solstice is coming!

Also, let me check real quick… 8 days, 7 hours, 59 minutes till the Copa Mundial. Que loco no?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 9:49 pm

    K I’ll add you to my blogroll. “It’s like calling a store shoplifties” made me lol at my desk!

Leave a Reply

